Posted by: sailingmartha | March 10, 2012

Life in the slow(er) lane

I had a lovely day today. The weather was gorgeous: blue, cloudless sky, mid-seventies, no wind. I took the kids to the Catholic retreat center to pray the Stations of the Cross (the kids are Catholic). The retreat center has a beautiful outdoor Way of the Cross, that we strolled through and enjoyed all the trees and flowering shrubs and stream and birds and squirrels. We also walked the labyrinth, which I always enjoy. It is a very centering experience for me and I received some good spiritual insights. Walking the labyrinth has so many parallels to my spiritual journey here on earth.

Afterwards, we went to lunch at Taco Bell, then we went to the Nature Center. There is a nice hands-on museum area, which currently has displays on wetlands and riparian areas, and it was quite interesting. We took a walk outside and saw several wild turkeys, and then a little herd of about six deer. They were very calm, and watched us for awhile, then went on with their grazing. A little later we saw another group of 3 or 4 deer, resting by a fallen log. We saw a pipevine swallowtail butterfly, and a bunch of hawks circling around overhead.

Then we headed to Target to buy a few things, came home and made a pasta salad for dinner, and then I went to church for the Akathist to the Theotokos. It was a nice service and we had a bigger crowd than usual. One of the ladies brought her cousin who is here visiting from Lebanon.

I was also so thankful today to find a new route to church. I usually dread going to church on a weekday evening because the traffic is so terrible. The church isn’t all that far from me, only 12 miles, and on Sunday mornings it’s a breeze, but on weekdays it is a nightmare. I have to psych myself up to make the drive. The two freeways I normally take are very heavily traveled and there are several tricky interchanges and merges. I see accidents and near-accidents constantly, and sometimes cars can be backed up for ages. I’ve tried a couple of other routes before, which involve cutting through downtown – less traffic but more stop lights, and one involves driving over a rilly rilly narrow 2-lane bridge which gives me the willies every time I cross it; the other involves making a left turn in front of 3 lanes of oncoming traffic with no stop – ick. So today I tried Googling for a different route and found one that is much much better. It avoids the 2 bad highways and downtown and takes me around the other direction, with only 1 minor merge. So praise the Lord and Google Maps, weekday trips to church should be much easier now.

Leave a Reply

Categories

