Posted by: sailingmartha | March 31, 2011

Ahh…spring

Spring is here! After several weeks of near-continuous rain and clouds, spring has arrived in no uncertain terms. Yesterday and today have been beautiful – warm temps, sunny skies, flowers blooming, the birds chirping. I put on a  t-shirt, a pair of capris, and sandals today, and we went out to do some work in the volunteer garden we maintain. The pansies we put in a couple of weeks ago are doing well. We put in a few perennials today: a columbine and a cuphea and something else that looks like a forget-me-not but I forget what it’s called (LOL), and some chocolate mint basil that smells heavenly. We had to pull out a few things that didn’t survive the winter, but that’s OK. I’d like to try planting a few strawberries and see how they do. The garden doesn’t get a lot of sun so they might not bear much fruit, but I think it would be fun to try.

I love being able to have my windows open, and let the fresh breezes blow in. The house gets so stuffy through the winter, with the kids’ stinky shoes, the cats’ litter boxes, and the rabbit’s cage. Even though we try to keep things clean around here, it’s inevitable that smells get trapped in our small space. I’m going to enjoy the nice weather for the short period it lasts. Too soon it will be hotter than blazes and the air conditioning will be running 24/7.

Spring also signals iced coffee – yum! I love coffee and probably drink too much of it. Starbucks is my secret addiction. However, I decided to splurge today and order myself a Mr. Coffee Frappe Maker, which looks like a nifty little machine. You put ground coffee in the brewing basket, and put ice, milk, syrup, what-have-you in the blender container, and it brews the coffee and blends it up, all in about 3 minutes. It should be here in a couple of days and I can’t wait to try it. Hopefully it will save me money in the long run.

I also can’t wait to do some day trips. Now that the rain has passed, it’s the perfect time to hit the road and visit some of the towns and attractions near by. I have several ideas in mind already, and hopefully next week we’ll be out exploring. School will have to take a backseat for a bit…the weather’s too precious to be wasted inside over textbooks. Happy trails!

Leave a Reply

Categories

